Who won what game?

Now, before I get off on a rant, please listen carefully.  In the event you bocome incensed, angry, irate, pissed off, indignant or any other verb you want to use, remember this.  I don’t care.
 
So, on with the show.  England (remember us?) beat France (remember them) in the semifinals of the rugby world cup.  Unfortunately, the vast majority of Americans can’t spell rugby, nor do they know what it is, how it is played, or even where it is played. This is a very unfortunate situation.  In the rest of the world, this is a big deal, like cricket and more importantly like soccer.  But therein lies the problem.  As far as americans are concerned, this is the world, within these borders.  They could care less about the rugby world cup, the 4 day cricket matches, world cup soccer qualifiers, and the EPL.  None of this weekends world class sporting events made it to the pages of the newspapers in the US, or ESPN or any of the major news web sites, because americans in general don’t give a fuck.  And its not just sports.  This is endemic accross the board.  And that people, is the problem.  The rest of the world already knows this and they are becoming more and more resigned to the truth that the US is isolating itself from everything not american.  When are you people ever going to learn?
 
There was a huge crash on the I5 north of LA on Friday night.  Arnold declared a state of emergency.  Now, on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rank a catastrophic hurricane demolishing an entire state a 10, while 2 dead and 27 trucks written off because people still have yet to learn how to drive properly a .1 and most definitely not an excuse to declare annoyance at the possible delay to commuters let alone a state of emergency.  Maybe my perspectives are a little out of whack, but I lived in LA for some time, and I don’t give a fuck if it is a car crash, or a jumper on a bridge.  My commute was fucked if it RAINED!!  No one declared a SOE when we had an inch of rain and people panicked because they had never seen water falling from the sky!  Now I live in Illinois.  My commute is fucked when it rains AND when it snows!!  Unbelievable.
 
On that note, I have to leave and get back to work.  Have a great week, watch out for idiots on the road (most of them are I think), and keep an eye on the news from the rest of the world.  It is far more interesting and well written that USA Today.
 
Robespierre.
About rjbirkett

Part time photographer, full time geek, motorcycle zealot, avid reader, and most importantly, unbiased. Unless politics is the subject of discussion.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who won what game?

  1. Phil says:

    Robespierre- You know I\’m not the typical American already, and I knew all about the Rugby World Cup. What a great win for England over France (in France), but then they went and lost to South Africa. I was in IRL in June and got to watch a \’friendly\’ between IRL and ARG (ARG won) and I guess that was a preview of the actual World Cup because ARG knocked the green out. I\’m not sure if the WC was shown on tv here but it should have been.
    So now Spurs and Chelsea both have hired foreigners (again) to manage thier teams. When will an Englishman ever get a job in London for a top notch EPL team? What is wrong with English managers that they never get hired for the best jobs? I don\’t understand that whole phenomena.
     
    HOW ABOUT THOSE RED SOX? In 2004 I pinched myself because that had to be my "once in a lifetime" opportunity to see them win. Now I feel like I\’m in the twilight zone. My brother and I went to game 2 of the playoffs at Fenway and watched Manny hit a game ending bottom of the 9th inning moonshot. Best sporting moment I have ever witnessed. I went to the parade a couple days ago and posted a couple of pics on my blog:
     
    http://philshannon.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

