Prized posessions, dates, music, bad weather, good friends.

Some dick head in the UK (where I am from as it happens) appears to have solved the problem of ever increasing hurricane strength storms attacking the US at frequent intervals.  Global Warming!  That is correct people, Global Warming is responsible for the latest and (not necessarily) greatest wave of hurricanes that are devastating the eastern seaboard of the United States.  Bollocks.  In the early 20’s the worst hurricane on record killed 6000 people in the great state of Texas.  Contrary to what this English cabbage thinks, global warming could hardly be held responsible for that little episode, so how does he justify that mind boggling dicovery?  I do agree that there is some credence to the change in climate and the effects of greenhouse gases, but these weather cycles are well known, and it is in my opinion impossible to make the connection without proof and analysis.  If you don’t know what you are talking about keep your mouth shut you muppet.
 
Occasionally I read the local Rants and Raves section on CraigsList, mostly out of curiosity and because it can be highly amusing to someone like me with a critically warped sense of humor.  For whatever reason, R7R became rather somber this afternoon when people began talking about their favorite posessions, most valued posessions et al.  I thought about this for a while and could not come up with a "posession" or something I "owned" that really fit the bill.  Evetually I decided that my most valued "posessions" were in fact my friends.  I honestly do not know what I would do without them.
 
The subject of Intelligent Design is in the courts again, but this time a few of the "creationists" and "evolutioists" are getting into really heated arguments.  You should follow the legal discourse if you have time, it is quite entertaining reading.  I don’t care who wins as I don’t have any children, and any school I would sendd them to if I did have any would not teach "ID" anyway.  If "ID" was so feasible and so explanatory in the first place, how come an idiot like George Bush could become president of the US?  Explain that with Intelligent Design.  I didn’t think so.  Darwin STILL rocks, and he was English too 🙂
 
The Cubs are saying goodbye to another season of losing.  Bummer.  At least we can all honestly say that no one is surprised, because you all know how much we hate surprises.  There is something to be said for consistency.
 
The Bears are just at the start of their losing season.  Ditto on the consistency comment above.
 
Roberts is well on his way to the highest court in the land.  That pisses me off, mostly because I can’t do anything about it, but also because I know he is a woman hater and a religious nut.  But then so is Bush. 
 
Anyone heard from the new pope lately?  Me neither.  The old pope spent more time in the public eye and he was senile, sick, and on the verge of death.  The new guy is young, healthy, and able to talk coherently, even if it is in German.  What is he doing?  He is the leader of the richest organization on the planet other than Microsoft, and Bill Gates is more public.  Weird.  I guess we will have to wait till he gets sick and is close to death before we see him again.  At least we have something to look forward to.
 
Apparently Bruce Willis does not want Demi taking the kids to church.  Her church that is.  Some radical offshoot of Judaism that has been referred to as a cult.  What is it with stupid famous people and their strange religions?  Tom Cruise and the Scientology mob?  I’m gald I’m an atheist.  If I had to choose from all those different Gods I would lose my mind.  That is why the Romans and the Greeks had a god for every day of the week (and then some).  You had plenty of choice and you could change your mind about which one you wanted to worship on any given day without running the risk of getting your head cut off or someone blowing you up on your daily commute.  The Greeks definitely had the edge though, their gods were pretty awesome.  The god of war, the god (ess) of love etc.  The Catholics only have one God, so do the Protestants and the Muslims.  I wonder if they are all the same god but they just haven’t figured it out yet?  When they do, I’m sure the world will be a safer and more peaceful place.
 
Robespierre.
 
 
 
 
 
About rjbirkett

Part time photographer, full time geek, motorcycle zealot, avid reader, and most importantly, unbiased. Unless politics is the subject of discussion.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

