42.

No, not my age, but the answer to life, the universe and everything.  If any of you are well read you will immediately know what I’m talking about.  For the rest of the population, this is an excerpt from the Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, soon to be in theatres, the story gleaned from the original book written in the 70’s.  Buy it and read it if you have not already done so.  Great humor, twisted antics and excellent characters make this a great story (a trilogy actually) and you will enjoy every moment from Marvin the paranoid android to Zaphod Bebblebrox and the pan galactic gargle blaster.  Too good to miss.

Next on the cinematic list of things to go see will be Sahara.  Dirk Pitt is the hero in this long running line of fictional novels from Clive Cussler (I have read all of them) and a couple have already made the movie transition including Raise the Titanic.  This should be a great yarn, and I would suggest reading some of the books too as they are very entertaining.  Since the Bourne Identity was such a success I am sure we will see a couple of these stories made into movies because they are great adventures and action packed, although the choice of lead for Dirk leaves me wondering what the director was thinking in the case of Sahara.  Matt is too short!

Nothing much went on in the news today, at least nothing that caught my eye and warranted a blog entry.  Iraquis are still killing each other by the dozen, and if they keep this up for the next fifteen years the pouplation will be halved.  43% of all gasoline is wasted in traffic jams accross the US.  The owner of the finger found in the chilli at Wendy’s is still being sought.  What are they going to do, stitch it back on?  The Pope missed the Friday Mass, no surprise there since he can hardly walk.  A fingerprint expert testified in the Jackson case, why, I have no idea.  Maybe he was a replacement for the bodyguard who is in jail for armed robbery.  Here is an intelligent specimen.  Rob a fast food joint (no, not restaurant) wearing a T-shirt with holes cut out for eyes, leave your thumbprint on the fridge and make off with a whopping $269.  Aim high people.

People keep wishing me a happy Easter.  Most of them obviously don’t read the blog.  My friend has been working on fixing up his bathroom for four months.  Ghengis Khan took over most of southern asia in 4 months.  Then again, it took the Romans a couple of years to build a ramp up to the fortress on top of Massada, and when they finally got into the compound, the Zealots had killed each other.  The Romans were a bit pissed off because they spent all that time and effort building the ramp for nothing.  My friend already has a fully functioning bathroom.  There is a link there somewhere……

I’m afraid to use the cruise control in my truck.  Yeah, right.  You don’t get to use cruise control on my commute.  There are more stop lights than stars in the sky.  If I hit 40MPH on the ride home my truck panics because it rarely hits 30MPH.  Add to that some of the worst drivers I have had the misfortune to be on the road with and you can see why I’m a little jaded. 

OK, time to go shopping for those chocolate eggs.  Whatever race, creed, color or religion you are, I hope you enjoy the weekend.  I myself will be waiting for the holiest day of all, the Easter sale.

Robespierre.

 

About rjbirkett

Part time photographer, full time geek, motorcycle zealot, avid reader, and most importantly, unbiased. Unless politics is the subject of discussion.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

